Back in the game!

I know what you are all thinking – how can she be BACK IN the game when this is a BRAND NEW blog???

Easy answer -I am back in the running game after a 9 month hiatus.  To make a long (and oh-so-boring) story short, I sprained my ankle for the millionth time in June of 2011.  This injury layer my up  big time.  I wasn’t able to get back to running, not even with Herculean physical therapy!   So, I had ankle reconstruction 11/28/12, have been a good little patient, and am now almost all healed up!

This week both my ankle surgeon and my fabulous PT have cleared me to jog on a treadmill.  I “ran” a whopping 4 minutes yesterday at PT and am slotted to go for up to 8 minutes tomorrow!  It’s amazing how 2 intervals of 5 minutes of walking an 2 minutes of jogging made me feel like a runner again.  I tell you, I sure did learn a lot about myself during this hiatus from pounding pavement -the biggest thing being that I LOVE RUNNING!  I just can’t wait to lace up my Brooks tomorrow and hit that treadmill.

I never thought I would find myself extolling the merits of a treadmill, but I am embracing it as my sole buddy (hahah, aren’t I funny? 😉 ) for the next 3 months until I am cleared to hit the road. Wish me luck!

3 Comments

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Dan

    Yay you! Go super awesome joggin girl!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Joint Respect « Joggin' Happy

Leave a Reply

